Published on 

Minister Joe McHugh Awards Funding under Local Diaspora Engagement Fund 2016

Mr. Joe McHugh T.D., Minister for the Diaspora and Overseas Development Aid, today (27 May, 2016) announced grants totalling €350,000 to 105 local and community organisations around the country for projects and initiatives under the Local Diaspora Engagement Fund (LDEF) 2016.
The Local Diaspora Engagement Fund is designed to promote diaspora engagement at a county, local and community level - in line with the objectives of Global Irish: Ireland’s Diaspora Policy published by Government in March 2015.
The funding in 2016 will support the development of strong diaspora links within the community through a diverse range of projects including genealogy projects, networking and media initiatives as well as literary and cultural events involving the diaspora.
The Minister said “I am delighted with the level of interest that local communities have in further developing links with their diaspora and that this year’s Local Diaspora Engagement Fund is supporting such a wide variety of innovative projects.
This support underpins my commitment to continuing the development of strong diaspora links at a local and community level.
These grants also complement the funding that has been made available to Local Authorities for Local Diaspora Strategy Development in 2016 (€10,000 for each Local Authority).”

A list of the organisations being funded under the Local Diaspora Engagement Fund in 2016 is attached.
Organisation County Grant
Áras Éanna Arts Centre Galway €4,000
Ardmore Grange Heritage Waterford €1,500
Arroo Abu Theatre Company Leitrim €3,000
Balbriggan Chamber of Commerce Dublin €5,000
Ballina Chamber of Commerce Mayo €2,000
Ballintubber Tidy Towns & Heritage Committee Roscommon €2,000
Ballydonoghue Parish Magazine Kerry €5,000
Ballyhoura Development Ltd Limerick €2,800
Ballymacoda Lady's Bridge Cork €1,500
Belmont Harvest Festival Offaly €2,500
Boyle Arts Festival Roscommon €1,500
Cappamore Historical Society Limerick €3,000
Carrick-on-Suir Tourism and Economic Development Committee Tipperary €1,500
Castlebar Chamber of Commerce Mayo €10,000
Cavan Chamber of Commerce Cavan €2,500
Cavan Genealogy Cavan €3,000
Clashmore Heritage Group Waterford €1,500
Clonfert Historic Graves Group Cork €1,000
Clonmel Chamber of Commerce Tipperary €1,000
Cobh Carillon Committee Cork €2,500
Coláiste na Rinne Waterford €5,500
Comharchumann Forbartha an Leith-Triúigh Teo. Kerry €1,000
Connect Tipperary Tipperary €2,500
Cork Chamber of Commerce Cork €10,000
Courthouse Arts Centre Wicklow €4,000
Cuala Group Dublin €3,000
Dome Visitor Attraction Events and Venue Kerry €6,500
Drogheda & District Chamber of Commerce Louth €5,000
Dry Stone Wall Association of Ireland Tipperary €1,500
Duhallow CLG Cork €6,000
Edgeworthstown District Development Association Ltd Longford €4,000
Elemental Arts and Culture Festival Limerick €2,000
Emly Historical Society Tipperary €1,500
Enniscorthy Chamber of Commerce. Wexford €5,000
Euyeries Family Festival Committee Cork €1,500
Farney Community Development Group Monaghan €3,000
Fenagh Heritage Group Leitrim €1,500
Freebird Club Kerry €5,000
Galway Civic Trust Galway €4,000
Game Fairs Ireland Ltd Donegal €1,500
Glaslough Development Assiciation (GDA) Monaghan €3,000
Gleasmole Heritage Group Dublin €1,500
Gleeson Clan Gathering 2016 Organising Committee Meath €4,000
Glendalough Heritage Forum Wicklow €2,500
Glenfarne Community Leitrim €1,500
Glin Historical Society Limerick €1,500
Global Limerick Limerick €8,000
Guth na Rosann Teoranta Donegal €5,000
Hannon Festival Committee Kerry €1,500
Heritage Factory Clare €9,000
IRD Duhallow CLG Cork €5,000
Ireland Lacrosse Dublin €2,000
Irish Wheelchair Assoc. Erris Branch Mayo €4,000
Keel Community Council Kerry €1,775
Kennedy Summer School Wexford €5,000
Kerry Emigrant Support Service Kerry €5,000
Kerry Film Festival Kerry €2,000
Kerry Rose Festival Ltd Kerry €5,000
Kerry Women Writer's Network Kerry €3,000
Kilbarron Terryglass Reaching Out Team Tipperary €3,000
Kilfinane Cashlea Historical Society Limerick €500
Killorglin Chamber Alliance Kerry €1,800
Killynagh More Graveyard Committee Roscommon €500
Kilmurry Historical & Archaeological Association Cork €2,000
Kilteevan Graveyard Committee Roscommon €3,500
Kiltimagh Tourism Association Mayo €7,500
Knocklyon Network Ltd Dublin €3,000
Larry Reynolds Irish Music, Heritage &Culture Group Galway €3,500
Listowel Military Tattoo Ltd Kerry €1,500
Loughrea Medieval Festival Galway €1,000
Mallow Field Club Cork €1,000
Margaret of New Orleans Mardi Gra Jazz/Trad and Food Festival Leitrim €3,000
Mendicity Institution Dublin €1,500
Molly Gallivan's Cottage and Traditional farm Kerry €3,000
Moneygall Development Association Ltd Offaly €3,000
Moycullen Historical Society Galway €3,000
Moygownagh Community Mayo €1,500
Muintearas Teo Galway Galway €2,000
Myshall Muintir Na Tire Carlow €1,000
North Kerry Environmental Forum Kerry €7,000
O'Malley Clan Association Limerick €3,000
Omey Parishes Galway €1,500
Oxmantown Settlement Trust Offaly €5,000
Pallasgreen Templebraden Historical Society Limerick €2,000
Power Clan Gathering/ Ireland Newfoundland Connection Waterford €6,000
Ring of Kerry Charity Cycle Kerry €4,500
Roscommon Chamber of Commerce Roscommon €10,000
Roscrea Chamber of Commerce Tipperary €2,000
RosFM Radio Ltd Roscommon €10,000
Saleen & District Residents Association Cork €1,500
Seanchaí - Kerry Literacy & Cultural Centre Kerry €3,825
Sligo Chamber of Commerce Sligo €6,000
Sligo Field Club Sligo €2,000
Stack Clan Gathering Kerry €1,500
Swinford Community Development Ltd Mayo €3,000
The Afro in Diaspora Centre Cavan €7,000
Thomas D'Arcy McGee Foundation Louth €3,000
Thomas MacDonagh Heritage Centre Tipperary €7,000
Thurles Chamber Action Plan Group Tipperary €4,000
Tinryland Park Ltd Carlow €2,500
Tracton Community Council Cork €1,800
Trustees of Muckross Kerry €3,000
Tulla Clare Reaching Out Clare €1,500
Valentia Island Heritage Centre Kerry €2,000
Woodlawn Heritage Group Galway €3,000