Published on 

Taoiseach and Minister Harris officially open Munster Technological University

Taoiseach Micheál Martin TD and Minister for Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science Simon Harris TD have today (November 8th) visited Munster Technological University to officially open the new higher education institution.


On January 1st Cork Institute of Technology and Institute of Technology Tralee merged to form Munster Technological University (MTU), becoming only the country’s second established technological university.


Today MTU flags were finally raised in a  ceremony across six campuses in Cork and Kerry.


An Taoiseach Micheál Martin said: “At a time when the world is facing major challenges in areas such as climate change and COVID-19, the importance of higher education has never been greater.


“We will need to maximise our ability to produce talented and responsible graduates who can lead, innovate, create, inspire, and transform. We will need these graduates in every village, town, city, and region in Ireland if we are to achieve the ground-up community engagement required to succeed in a sustainable manner.


“The development of Technological Universities is a key development in this context, and the establishment of MTU, in particular, will prove to be transformative for the South West Region.”


Minister Harris added: “I am so thrilled to finally attend this important event at Munster Technological University and help celebrate what has been a successful first year for MTU.


“This new technological university is increasing higher education access, boosting regional development, and increasing opportunities for students, staff, businesses and local communities.


“MTU has taken its rightful place in the higher education landscape, benefiting students right across the region, and for that I would like to thank everyone at the former Cork IT and IT Tralee who worked tirelessly to make it possible.


“This TU, as well as others that have been established, is proving that higher education can deliver regional excellence, while also making the international ambitions of student, staff and communities a reality.”


MTU is the first new university to be established in the south-west region of the country since the creation of UCC in 1845, and incorporates:


  • 6 campuses across Cork & Kerry


  • 18,000+ learners


  • 140+ courses and programmes


  • 2,000+ staff developing and supporting learners


  • 120+ links with leading colleges worldwide


  • Six research centres of excellence


  • 100+ clubs and societies



MTU President Professor Maggie Cusack said: “MTU will play a leadership role in the strategic development of the South West region and, in so doing, will adopt a global outlook and a civic-centric value system.


“MTU will anchor the development of the South West region, while participating fully on both the national and international stages. We will play a central and strategic role in ensuring that there are fantastic opportunities for all to achieve their full potential in education, in life, and in their careers.”