Published on 

EU adopts 8th Sanctions Package

The EU today adopted a new package of sanctions in response to illegal annexation of Ukraine's Donetsk, Luhansk, Zaporizhzhia and Kherson regions, in the context of the escalation of the unjustified and unprovoked war in Ukraine (see EU press release here).


Minister for Foreign Affairs, Simon Coveney T.D., said:


Ireland, along with our EU partners, remains steadfast in our support for Ukraine’s sovereignty and territorial integrity within its internationally recognised borders. Russia’s further violation of this has led us to introduce another package of sanctions.  This will add to the pressure that EU restrictive measures have already put on the Russian economy, and its military capacity. Ireland has consistently advocated for a maximalist position on sanctions since February. Russian actions have been met with a strong and unified response by the EU and its partners. I will continue to call for further pressure to be imposed on Russia through sanctions until a peaceful conclusion of this conflict is reached. We stand united with Ukraine.


The sanctions package includes sectoral measures such as an extension to the existing import bans to items including certain steel products, wood pulp and paper, and certain precious stones and metals, and export bans to new items including certain goods in the aviation sector and civilian firearms, as well as extending the ban on the provision of services to include architectural, engineering, legal advisory, and IT consultancy services.


The package creates a framework for EU Member States to adopt the price cap announced by the G7 countries in September on maritime transport of Russian oil, and further restricts maritime transport of crude oil and petroleum to third countries. This aims to impact on the Kremlin’s revenues from oil exports, and ultimately assist in stabilising global energy prices.


The package adds an additional 30 persons and seven entities to the sanctions list, many linked to the sham referendums organised in the occupied territories. The package also creates a new listing criterion to sanction those who assist others to circumvent sanctions. To take account of Russia’s declaration of control of the Kherson and Zaporizhzhia regions of Ukraine, the Donetsk and Luhansk Sanctions Regime has also been extended to include these territories.


For more information on the sanctions adopted since 23 February, see this information note, as well as the Department’s dedicated sanctions page. Updates are made to this information note on a regular basis.