Published on 

Minister Donohoe re-elected for a second term as President of the Eurogroup

The Minister for Finance and President of the Eurogroup Paschal Donohoe TD, has today (Monday) been re-elected for a second term as the President of the Eurogroup. 


The vote took place at today’s Eurogroup meeting. As the only candidate and the incumbent Eurogroup President, Minister Donohoe was elected unanimously. 


Speaking after his re-election, Minister Donohoe said: 

“I am enormously privileged that my colleagues have entrusted me with a second term working on their behalf. My first priority, is to deliver tangible results from our policy coordination to allow us to overcome the challenges that we are facing, and to pursue the great opportunities that await the euro and the people of Europe.”


In line with the usual practice for the President of the Eurogroup, Minister Donohoe was also elected as the Chair of the ESM Board of Governors.


The new term will start on 13 January 2023.


Minister Donohoe will carry out his duties as President of the Eurogroup, as Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform, after the change in Government in mid-December 2022. The Minister for Finance will represent Ireland at Eurogroup meetings.